Bethune-Cookman University


On October 3, 1904, Mary McLeod Bethune, opened the Daytona Literary and Industrial Training School for Negro Girls with $1.50, faith in God, and five little girls. In 1923, the Daytona Literary and Industrial Training School for Negro Girls, having then been renamed to Daytona Normal and Industrial Institute, merged with Cookman Institute of Jacksonville, Florida (founded in 1872) becoming co-ed Daytona-Cookman Collegiate Institute. In 1931, the college became accredited by the Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools of the Southern States as a junior college, and the school’s name was again officially changed to to reflect the leadership of Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune– Bethune-Cookman College.  In 1936, Dr. Bethune was appointed administrative assistant for Negro Affairs (her title changed in 1939 to Director of the Division of Negro Affairs) of the National Youth Administration (NYA) making her the first African American woman to head a federal agency. Since 1943, Bethune-Cookman University (B-CU) has graduated more than 13,200 students. Many alumni are employed in the fields of education, medicine, business, politics, government, science, religion, athletics and environmental sciences. In 2007, Bethune-Cookman College    achieved university status, thusly changing its official name once more to Bethune-Cookman University; an honor to the legacy Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune founded 100 years prior.

Notable Alumni: Kimbo Slice; Stevie Baggs- Former NFL player; Yvonne Scarlett-Golden- 1st African American Mayor of Daytona, FL