Fayetteville State University




A year after the Civil War ended, the Phillips School provided primary education to Fayetteville’s Black citizens, and the Sumner School provided intermediate education for this population. The two schools were consolidated in 1869  and jointly named the Howard School. Seven prominent African-American men pooled $136 to purchase two lots for the first building that housed the Howard School. Geography and science classes were added to the already established reading, writing and arithmetic, and practical skills classes. Students were specifically trained to become teachers, particularly in small rural schools in Cumberland and surrounding counties of North Carolina. In 1969, the school was renamed Fayetteville State University as its programs are expanded. By 1988, FSU had increased to offering 36 disciplines in the arts and sciences, business, economics, and education.

Notable Alumni Include: former pro basketball player, Darrell Armstrong; former MLB player, Jim Bibby; and actor, Affion Crockett.