University of Texas at El Paso

The original University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) was founded in 1913 as the State School of Mines and Metallurgy in El Paso. UTEP is a Hispanic-serving institution. The name was changed another 4 times before attaining its current name. When the school was named Texas Western College of the University of Texas, it trained the nation’s first Peace Corps class and sent its 1966 men’s basketball team to the NCAA National Championship–the subject of the Hollywood movie “Glory Road.”

Notable Alumni Include: NASA astronaut John “Danny” Olivas; NFL Hall of Famer Fred Carr; and poet Estela Portillo-Trambley.