Virginia Union University


Located in Richmond Virginia, today’s Virginia Union University (VUU) was established in 1865 but acquired its current name in 1899 when Richmond Theological Institute and Wayland Seminary merged. The first mass arrests of the Civil Rights Movement was on February 22 1960, when 34 VUU students staged a sit-in at Richmond’s most exclusive dining establishment and were arrested for “trespassing.” The arrests of the “Union 34” set the stage for the Campaign for Human Dignity that ended racial segregation in Richmond within two years.

Notable Alumni Include: Roslyn M. Brock, chairman of NAACP; Eugene Kinckle Jones, Founder of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc; and Charles Spurgeon Johnson, first Black president of Fisk University.